Are we consciously withholding better lives from our future generations?

In four years of nursing school I came across a lot of different aspects from which human health can be observed.  From anatomy to microbiology, all the way to specialized health care of certain patients.

Through those four years my interest in medicine went down proportionally as the interest for, literally anything else, skyrocketed. Something was missing, but most of all, I felt bad for people.

I decided, loud and clear, I want to change my profession. That’s how I ended up in Law school. From one extreme to another, I really know my choices… 

Between the ultimate exposure to human vulnerability that medicinal industry brings and general lack of empathy in the law branches I realized this whole system is in desperate need for balance!

All that school, all that books and learning, so much information, the constant search for knowledges to fulfill us, but yet, at the age of 21 we already feel old. Ever wondered why is that? I have. A LOT.

We were never taught to stop. We were never taught to ”balance out” our ”knowledges”. Also, we were never taught to ”process our learnings”. We let our organism do that by itself. Our body is in all that knowledges, alone! Alone and chronically tired.

I remember myself, sitting like a camel with chronic back pain. I was nervous all the time. I thought that was me.

One day my back hurt so badly that, out of rage, I googled:

”what the fuck do I do if the satan himself possessed a place between my shoulder blades?!”

Totally un-jogic and rude, but, whoever had that killing pain between shoulder blades understands my misery at that time.

That was the day I discovered yoga.

Yoga was my gateway drug to beauties of the alternative world. With only a year of practice, meditation came on by itself. Three years after I started to feel comfort in movement meditation. Without a lot of actual effort, except doing yoga, it all came to me.

Yoga helped me found balance. It was the missing link.

Now… that got me thinking…

Who knows what kind of person would I be today, and how much would I have advanced, if from the beginning I was recieveing that kind of knowledges?

If I had spent as much time in introspection as I spend now, where would I be?!

Who would I be?

Would I even have unresolved issues, fear or negative imprints in me?

It got me to an even bigger question that always bothers me…

Are we consciously withholding better lives from future generations?

Was a better life withholded from us, too??

As a nursing school, and as a law school student, it makes me really sad that out of all of that people, exams, informations etc., the primal point of it all has vanished.

And the saddest part is nobody actually breathes.

What is the primal point? If the point is that young people sit for hours in classrooms with absolutely no fresh air, no real interactions or active interpretations of knowledges, then you cannot expect to have ambitious loving humans willing to advance in any way, needless to say in a spiritual way.

We can have what we have, and absolutely nothing more.

Human body is absolutely self-sustainable. We need to start spreading  consciousness like a freaking virus.

Author

Barbara Jutriša

Leave a comment